Let's talk about Star Control 3.....

Anything that isn't Star Control. Mind your manners!

Moderator: ZFP Peacekeepers

2-23-6
*squeezing* *juice*!!!
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:52 am

Re: Let's talk about Star Control 3.....

Post by 2-23-6 » Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:19 pm

The only time limit is in how fast it should be up its creators' respective a...Well, I DID pay $0.03 for the game on EBay back around 2000.

User avatar
palmpet
Ilwrath torturer
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 7:36 pm
Location: Hillopia, currently imprisoned in Invictler Slave Hive.

Re: Let's talk about Star Control 3.....

Post by palmpet » Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:48 pm

The game wasn't to hard because i had watched a walkthrough ages ago. I beat it in like two days. The colony mangement was kind of fun but unnecessary. Though I did like to put the vyro-ingo and VUX in the same systems after rejoining them just for fun. Though one major annoyance is that the music at any point in the game wouldn't play at all! The only exception being the victory diities.
"What's the point in being grown-up if you can't be childish sometimes."

2-23-6
*squeezing* *juice*!!!
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:52 am

Re: Let's talk about Star Control 3.....

Post by 2-23-6 » Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:52 am

The music was stupid quiet.

krulle
Ilwrath spawn
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:01 pm

Re: Let's talk about Star Control 3.....

Post by krulle » Tue Aug 15, 2017 7:46 am

With the notable exeption of the Daktaklakpak. I liked their music.

User avatar
palmpet
Ilwrath torturer
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 7:36 pm
Location: Hillopia, currently imprisoned in Invictler Slave Hive.

Re: Let's talk about Star Control 3.....

Post by palmpet » Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:58 am

There actually was no music though. I had the volume turned up all the way. I'm thinking it was a problem with DOSbox.
"What's the point in being grown-up if you can't be childish sometimes."

User avatar
Alvarin
ZFP Peacekeeper
Posts: 2037
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 7:12 am
Location: Israel

Re: Let's talk about Star Control 3.....

Post by Alvarin » Tue Aug 15, 2017 8:40 pm

krulle wrote:With the notable exeption of the Daktaklakpak. I liked their music.
And the quadrant map "music" too?
To be angry is to punish yourself for the errors of others.

krulle
Ilwrath spawn
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:01 pm

Re: Let's talk about Star Control 3.....

Post by krulle » Wed Aug 16, 2017 7:28 pm

I don't remember that one.
I just remember I liked the Daktaklakpak's one. Not their ditty, but their music....

But indeed, that sounds like a dosbox or similar issue...

User avatar
Angelfish
Slylandro gasbags
Posts: 1611
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: Let's talk about Star Control 3.....

Post by Angelfish » Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:34 am

palmpet wrote:There actually was no music though. I had the volume turned up all the way. I'm thinking it was a problem with DOSbox.
It's midi and back then you needed a soundcard with a midi 'table' with the instruments in it to play midi's properly.
So I think it gets down to emulating the right soundcard :)

User avatar
palmpet
Ilwrath torturer
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 7:36 pm
Location: Hillopia, currently imprisoned in Invictler Slave Hive.

Re: Let's talk about Star Control 3.....

Post by palmpet » Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:33 pm

Angelfish wrote:
palmpet wrote:There actually was no music though. I had the volume turned up all the way. I'm thinking it was a problem with DOSbox.
It's midi and back then you needed a soundcard with a midi 'table' with the instruments in it to play midi's properly.
So I think it gets down to emulating the right soundcard :)
Oh...er how would I go about doing that?
"What's the point in being grown-up if you can't be childish sometimes."

User avatar
Angelfish
Slylandro gasbags
Posts: 1611
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: Let's talk about Star Control 3.....

Post by Angelfish » Thu Aug 17, 2017 5:03 pm

palmpet wrote:
Angelfish wrote:
palmpet wrote:There actually was no music though. I had the volume turned up all the way. I'm thinking it was a problem with DOSbox.
It's midi and back then you needed a soundcard with a midi 'table' with the instruments in it to play midi's properly.
So I think it gets down to emulating the right soundcard :)
Oh...er how would I go about doing that?
Read the dosbox help for setting the correct soundcard. most soundblaster cards should do the trick. If that doesn't fix stuff ask again here and I'll see.

Post Reply